TopGear Vega Ship Calc

Mr TopGear
Mr TopGear
Master Tactician
Joined Aug 2014 Posts: 2,059
edited 8 Apr 2015, 11:55PM
I made this ship calc a while ago for my own use and it evolved into what you see now. I recently added Komodo stats to it so I waited until now to add it in here as some of you might find it useful. 

Currently it is only missing stats for:

Repair Time of AP Driver III
 
If someone has this please post them here and I will update the calc. Other than that it is complete.

Enjoy



Latest version 1.12 added 8/04/2015

https://www.kixeye.com/forum/discussion/comment/4441105

The problem with this game is the power curves. Just look at the graphs I made. Said no vega conflict player ever

  • crocodee
    crocodee
    Greenhorn
    Joined Sep 2014 Posts: 8
    edited 4 Apr 2015, 4:21PM
    This is awesome, thx for sharing! :smiley: 
  • Destoryer Of Worlds
    Destoryer Of Worlds
    Incursion Leader
    Joined Aug 2013 Posts: 1,113
    edited 5 Apr 2015, 2:32AM
    This is the best thing ever. THANK YOU!

    One thing that needs changing though, it needs to add another 2 weapon slots for calcualting battleship repair times, since most battleships have 5/6 gun slots
    image
  • ZachyMan119
    ZachyMan119
    Greenhorn
    Joined Jul 2014 Posts: 6
    Does it only have to be opened with Microsoft Office? I can't get it to open with Adobe. Can anything else can open it?
    ~~~~~ZachyMan119~~~~~
  • ZachyMan119
    ZachyMan119
    Greenhorn
    Joined Jul 2014 Posts: 6
    Other wise, thanks for this!  :)
    ~~~~~ZachyMan119~~~~~
  • Mr TopGear
    Mr TopGear
    Master Tactician
    Joined Aug 2014 Posts: 2,059
    This file uses macros to dynamically adjust the template to suit the ship layout that you are calculating. So you need to enable macros in excel, maybe that is why you are not seeing weapon slot 5, 6 and 7 Destroyer of worlds.

    I have just downloaded free versions off MS Excel alternatives. The only one I could find that comes close to working is Libre Office calc the rest are not working correctly with this file.

    I would suggest using it on Microsoft Excel with macros enabled to get the full functionality. I'm sure there are many free versions of excel floating around the internet, or maybe a free trial of excel from Microsoft is available if you do not have it.
    The problem with this game is the power curves. Just look at the graphs I made. Said no vega conflict player ever

  • b93500
    b93500
    Minor Nuisance
    Joined Oct 2013 Posts: 228
    This is egregious, man! Thanks for sharing and keep doing this kind of stuff, they're very useful. Cheers!
    image
    "The road to power is paved with hypocrisy. And casualties. Never regret."
  • xResidentx
    xResidentx
    Skilled Warrior
    Joined Nov 2014 Posts: 436

    drop down menus works only in Excel

    We have better Simulator/Database, but your is fine too ;)

    transparent
  • CesarDemi
    CesarDemi
    Strike-force Captain
    Joined Nov 2014 Posts: 959
    edited 5 Apr 2015, 5:55PM
    I think you have a bug on that calculator.

    When I try to put different kinds of shields on a ship, it clears the other shield field. I don't have the refit available right now on my factory to confirm cause there's something else refitting in there, but I guess this is allowed in the game isn't it?
  • Mr TopGear
    Mr TopGear
    Master Tactician
    Joined Aug 2014 Posts: 2,059
    You can't have two different types of shields on a ship. You can have the same type of shield twice. e.g. two Spectral 5 is fine. But not Spectral 5 and Shock 5. It clears the other shield slot if you try and equip shields of different types 
    The problem with this game is the power curves. Just look at the graphs I made. Said no vega conflict player ever

  • Brandon Keeler
    Brandon Keeler
    Incursion Leader
    Joined Feb 2011 Posts: 1,185
    edited 5 Apr 2015, 8:18PM
     
    5 ship fleet (35h48m50s) repair time                                      5 ship fleet (14h4m30s) repair time

    With not much difference between builds besides the armor (zynthium vs iridium)... there is a noticeable difference in repairs. (21h44m20s difference).
    image
  • jimmymcgoochie
    jimmymcgoochie
    Master Tactician
    Joined Jan 2012 Posts: 2,164
    edited 6 Apr 2015, 11:43AM
    Zynthium 5 does have a pretty long repair time, I think an hour and a bit per zyn5, so 4 1/2 hours more for zyn5 versus irid5 per ship isn't too much of a stretch. Putting four zyn5s on anything is just asking for a days-long fleet repair bill...
    My VC story: 
    Vega Conflict-er since closed beta phase 1, back when torpedo harriers ruled the sector.
    BP- started in the black sea days, then the game died...
    WC- started pre-World Map, then everything went downhill.

    My BP story series:
    https://www.kixeye.com/forum/discussion/202668
    https://www.kixeye.com/forum/discussion/239790
    https://www.kixeye.com/forum/discussion/466086 (in progress).

  • Omega 7
    Omega 7
    Minor Nuisance
    Joined Oct 2013 Posts: 148
     
    5 ship fleet (35h48m50s) repair time                                      5 ship fleet (14h4m30s) repair time

    With not much difference between builds besides the armor (zynthium vs iridium)... there is a noticeable difference in repairs. (21h44m20s difference).
    Yea, where have you been. Zynthium repair times are outrageous, especially when you use Zynth 5 this isn't a new issue players have been complaining about this forever. 
  • CesarDemi
    CesarDemi
    Strike-force Captain
    Joined Nov 2014 Posts: 959
    You can't have two different types of shields on a ship. You can have the same type of shield twice. e.g. two Spectral 5 is fine. But not Spectral 5 and Shock 5. It clears the other shield slot if you try and equip shields of different types 
    Thanks a lot for clarifying it, mate. I never checked on that but realized about it while I was playing with the spreadsheet :)
  • Amaranthe.1975
    Amaranthe.1975
    Potential Threat
    Joined Dec 2010 Posts: 71
    Nice spreadsheet you made. (No offence) But it will be a good tool to use until Phill is done with the new Fleetman.
    image
  • HELLFIRE_9
    HELLFIRE_9
    Potential Threat
    Joined Mar 2013 Posts: 43

    This is very cool, nicely done man.

    HF9
  • flagrans780
    flagrans780
    Greenhorn
    Joined Dec 2014 Posts: 20
    on which version of the program tested? - For 2013 shows no repair time

  • Talon.vannatter
    Talon.vannatter
    Greenhorn
    Joined Feb 2015 Posts: 11

    Can you make it for phone

    n
  • Imperial Fists
    Imperial Fists
    Minor Nuisance
    Joined Feb 2013 Posts: 132
    edited 8 Apr 2015, 7:36AM
    Great program.  I am glad that someone is continuing the ship/fleet planner spreadsheet.

    I have some of the missing items.

    L3 creeper torpedo (Refit on an empty Exodus cruiser):
     He 5,440,090
     AM 1,360,022
    4h 36m 00s

    L3 net torpedo (1 gun on an empty Exodus cruiser)
     repair time 29m 50s (45m 50s - 16m = 29m 50s)


    Vega Conflict L46 
  • Mr TopGear
    Mr TopGear
    Master Tactician
    Joined Aug 2014 Posts: 2,059
    Version 1.12
    - Updated Creeper Torpedo III build time from (4h 10m 50s) to (4h 36m)
    - Added Creeper Torpedo III Resource Costs
    - Added NET Torpedo III Repair Time

    (Thankyou for the stats Imperial Fists)

    -Now only missing repair time for AP Driver III
    The problem with this game is the power curves. Just look at the graphs I made. Said no vega conflict player ever

  • joshuamiller24
    joshuamiller24
    Greenhorn
    Joined Jan 2014 Posts: 2
    U NEED TO add how to use the program in the about section 
  • twisteroid
    twisteroid
    Greenhorn
    Joined Jan 2015 Posts: 8
    excel2013 - shows only days in all time*cells. no hours or minutes
  • Baal Xul
    Baal Xul
    Potential Threat
    Joined Nov 2014 Posts: 41
    This is freakin Awesome!
    You rock!
    All things perish.
  • Mr TopGear
    Mr TopGear
    Master Tactician
    Joined Aug 2014 Posts: 2,059
    edited 9 Apr 2015, 12:05AM
    U NEED TO add how to use the program in the about section 
    If you cant use this ship calc; Just equip Plasma Torpedo 5 and Zynth 5 on everything and play on auto. Nothing I write in the about section is going to help you.


    If you really really really need help 1.Download Calc 2. Open calc in excel 3. Select ship from dropdown in column B1 4. Select equipment to go on ship from dropdowns
    The problem with this game is the power curves. Just look at the graphs I made. Said no vega conflict player ever

  • NB SnakeRaphies
    NB SnakeRaphies
    Greenhorn
    Joined Apr 2014 Posts: 4
    I have a other problem, i don't have the dropdown.I DL 3/4 time the document, but nothing :/
    if someone can help me, I have MS Excel 2007
  • twisteroid
    twisteroid
    Greenhorn
    Joined Jan 2015 Posts: 8
    it wont work on 2007 even with macro on... thats why i installed 2013. but 2013 doesnt show full rep&build time, it only shows days
  • Mr TopGear
    Mr TopGear
    Master Tactician
    Joined Aug 2014 Posts: 2,059
    can you do is screenshot twisteroid please. I'm using excel 2013 myself. Is it pc or mac version
    The problem with this game is the power curves. Just look at the graphs I made. Said no vega conflict player ever

  • twisteroid
    twisteroid
    Greenhorn
    Joined Jan 2015 Posts: 8
    edited 9 Apr 2015, 7:48AM

    here you go. looks like if the build/rep time is less than 12 hrs it doent even show anything in the cell.
    its a pc russian version on win7
    seems to me its a cell' format problem or something like that, because it counts right, issues are with how it shown
  • Mr TopGear
    Mr TopGear
    Master Tactician
    Joined Aug 2014 Posts: 2,059
    I have made a test version that simplifies the formulas for the duration values. It "may" fix the display issues your having on the russian version of excel.

    I have also added in text values for each drop down box. So if your version of excel does not support drop down boxes then copy (ctrl + C on pc) and paste the values into the appropriate row (ctrl + v on pc).

    e.g. If you want Zynth 2 armour in armour slot 1, then highlight F39 copy it And paste it into B8
    The problem with this game is the power curves. Just look at the graphs I made. Said no vega conflict player ever

  • twisteroid
    twisteroid
    Greenhorn
    Joined Jan 2015 Posts: 8
    It works now. Thanks a lot.
Sign In or Register to comment.