VC Ship Planner

Chili Industries Ltd
Chili Industries Ltd
Strike-force Captain
Joined Feb 2014 Posts: 709
edited 2 Jun 2021, 7:09PM
Link:
Vega Conflict Ship Planner


Ok, here's what you've all been waiting for; someone to create a ship calc/planner after TopGear left his project.

After TopGear stopped working on the Ship Calc, I decided to continue my old project, from way back when the game was still in Flash. And by 'continue' I actually meant completely start over from scratch, since it originally was meant to be an app for PC. But tbh, had I known how much data was in the game and how much coding this would take, four months ago, I would probably never had started. ><

Keep in mind, as I don't have the same connection to Kix as TopGear had, despite my best efforts over the years, it will take time for new items to appear on the site, after they've been released. Various new mechanics may also deviate from what you get in-game, as I either have to figure these out myself, or wait for them to be added to the wiki. There’s a lot of work involved in that and getting it right, so please be patient.

Most mobile devices should be supported, but it's hard to cover every variant out there, so you're likely bound to run into problems at some point. Internet Explorer and Edge on the other hand, I've had to disable due to various problems. Microsoft seems to have their own thing going and doesn't seem to care about supporting features other browsers do. Any other browser should work.

For now, it's in English only and with minimum descriptions on stats, until I get the time to translate everything. However most icons should be self-explanatory. Some may differ slightly from what you see in-game, as those often make no sense.

And before you ask, no, I will not call it Ship Calc, as that was TopGear's thing and it may confuse players, which one is meant.

Leave a comment with any issues you may have and I'll see if I can fix'em when I have the time.

More to come.


As a side note; I - hate - JavaScript. 1 + 2 = 12, and 0.07 * 100 = 7.000000000000001. Seriously? Worst coding language ever. Bug hunting is a pain when the language isn't up to even the most basics.


Known issues:
  • A few items don't show all of their data, yet.
  • Mass is rounded differently in-game, so this may be off by one.
  • Drag may not work on some mobile devices. It should work in desktop mode, though.

_______________________




Fleet.
  • Drag a ship from one slot to another, in order to copy the entire hull and its loadout. *
  • To delete a ship, drag and drop it anywhere except another slot.

Level and mass.
  • On the left is the current level and mass of the selected ship, while on the right that of the entire fleet.





Ship loadout - Left side.
  • Current stats are shown here. (Mobile; swipe left/right to toggle this)
  • You can toggle between ship stats and fleet stats, with the tabs just below the menu.

Ship loadout - Right side.
  • After a slot has been selected, this is where items will be displayed. (Mobile; swipe left/right to toggle this)
  • Above the item list, information on currently selected item is displayed.
  • The filter will determine which items are shown in the list.
  • The separator between the item info and item list can be adjusted, to suit your needs. More info or more items.

Ship loadout.
  • Top right is where you select mark up level.
  • Drag an item from one slot to another, in order to quickly copy it. *
  • To delete an item, drag and drop it anywhere except another slot of the same type.

* If a targeted slot has an item in it, the items will swap places instead. First remove what's all ready there, if you want to do a copy.





Menu - Hulls.
  • Hulls are automatically shown when you load the page, and when you select an empty fleet slot, but you can open it at any given time through this menu button.

Menu - Fleet Commanders.
  • Various buffs can be gained from Fleet Commanders. Select one to see how the commander affects your fleet.

Menu - Short key.
  • Coming soon - if I can find a site where they don't demand I pay for a premium account at $250 per month.

Menu - Settings - VIP.
  • If you want more accurate information on build and fitting times, select your current in-game VIP level here.

Menu - Settings - Language.
  • So far this doesn't do much, except change the way measurements are displayed, but the plan is to have all hulls and items show their names in all languages used in-game.

Menu - Settings - Alliance Help.
  • Alliance Help can reduce build, craft and refit times. Switch this on to see how much time it will save you.

All settings are persistent, but can be changed at any given time.



! Bug reporting.
  • Describe how to recreate bugs you come across. "Somewhere, something is wrong" can't be fixed.


Notes:

1.0.641
- Added Conservator.
- Added Fission Missile.
- Added Spectre EN/EX/KI Pierce Resistor.
- Added Orbit Thruster.

1.0.639
- Segfault now adds its Phase Screen Energy bonus correctly.
- Fixed restrictions on a couple of items.

1.0.637
- Added Infiltrator.
- Added Flux Cannon.
- Added Borophrene Armor.
- Added Spectral/Shockwave/Deflector Nano Shield.

1.0.635
- Added Broadsider.
- Added Pike.
- Added Haste Thruster.
- Couple minor bug fixes.

1.0.626
- Added Turbo Thruster.
- Moved VIP and Language selection to new Settings.
- Added alliance help.
- Ship stats now include acceleration.
- Resurgence System can no longer stack with itself.
- Added additional data to various items.
- Fixed percentage health modifiers from specials.
- Adjusted various item data.

1.0.611
- Added Fleet Commanders.
- Added Buckler, Segmentata Armor and Caetra Shield.
- Updated repair times on all hulls and items.
- Fixed an issue that allowed Antimatter Scoop to stack.
- Various minor updates.

1.0.565
- Added the Subverter, Hush Revenant, Reverb Driver and Reach Squadron.
- Hulls are now localized in French, German, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese and Russian.
- Celestial Optics should now apply its dps reduction correctly.
- Adjusted various item data.
- A couple minor bug fixes.

1.0.549
- Further restrictions on various items are now in place.
- Screens and screen bonuses should now be inline with what you see in-game.
- Added additional info on damage bonuses.
- Adjusted various item data.
- A couple minor bug fixes.

1.0.534
- Added EN/EX/KI Spectre Resistors.
- Added Caustic battleship.
- Added Rush Beam.
- Added Pursuit Squadron.
- Added Decay Revenant.

1.0.530
- Added Tachyon Thruster.
- Added shield modifiers from specials.
- Added ablative recovery modifiers from specials.
- Added ablative stats to both item and ship overviews.
- Added additional mark upgrade data to overview.
- Updated Harvester.
- A few items have been restricted from being equipped on tier 8 hulls and up, as per this update.
- Adjusted and fixed various item data.
- Fixed a bug, which allowed thrusters to be equip on Dreadnoughts.
- A couple minor bug fixes.

1.0.510
- Added Arc Battleship (with placeholder icon).
- Added Slug Torpedo (with placeholder icons).
- Added Phase Screen Charge and Phase Screen Drain stats.
- Added Screen to fleet stats.
- Added restrictions for role specific items.
- Moved Monitor to tier 8.
- Unlocked Spearhead Augment for Spectre.
- Ablative Carapace is now restricted to tier 8.
- Blackguard should now show the correct set of slots.
- A couple minor bug fixes.

1.0.495
- Fixed level, health, shield, resist and mass calc.
- Added additional restrictions for tier 8 and tier 9.
- Adjusted various item data.
- Added mass remainder.

1.0.474
- Release version.

  • Kifty
    Kifty
    Minor Nuisance
    Joined Oct 2017 Posts: 188
    Hey, first off, thank you for making this, was really missing being able to plan ship builds.

    But I think theres some sort of issue other than rounding. Because this switch build:
    3x rife3
    2x rife2
    HCT3
    Palladium munitions 3
    4x graphene 3
    chase phantom 2
    2 of the dual type resistors
    4x EX barricade 2
    1x EX barricade 1

    Is 23,991T in game, and only 19,791T in your planner. that seems like too big an error for rounding.
    Couldnt get my screenshots to load in this forum post, but I put them in the media channel of the official VC discord server under the same username(If you ignore the nickname on there)

  • Chili Industries Ltd
    Chili Industries Ltd
    Strike-force Captain
    Joined Feb 2014 Posts: 709
    edited 20 Nov 2020, 7:53PM
    Well, it's a work in progress, so see it as an alpha. Something's always bound to go wrong this early. I did notice one thing while testing this, that level doesn't update when you use a link code, so there's one bug that needs fixing.

    I take it those resistors are level 3? If that's the case, then I get 24,248t. Messed around with it, but couldn't get it to show 19,791t. But if 23,991t is the correct number and that's the correct build, then there is a calc error or incorrect data somewhere.

    https://vcsp.gamepowah.com/?lc=0.35503a213a223a233a143a1508160s270s280s290s2a0i1b0i1c0i1d0i1e0i0f0z2g1o2i052j052

    Edit: Found the level bug. It doesn't update if the fleet only has one ship in it. It's a remnant from an early system I used. Just add a low level hull like Pathfinder, for now.
  • Kifty
    Kifty
    Minor Nuisance
    Joined Oct 2017 Posts: 188
    Figured it out. I mistook the old regen explosive shields for the barricade ones. oops.yeah, it does come out a little over when you use the right ones.

  • Chili Industries Ltd
    Chili Industries Ltd
    Strike-force Captain
    Joined Feb 2014 Posts: 709
    edited 20 Nov 2020, 9:29PM
    :smile:

    Uploaded a small fix to correct the level bug, so that should work now.

    Apparently some items have incorrect restrictions. Will work on that next.
  • Chili Industries Ltd
    Chili Industries Ltd
    Strike-force Captain
    Joined Feb 2014 Posts: 709
    Mass calc should be correct now. Plus/minus one due to rounding.
  • ironix
    ironix
    Skilled Warrior
    Joined Aug 2013 Posts: 409
    looks nice works good, but the values of mass and the values of resist are still wayyy off.

    i hope you are able to fix it in upcomming updates. keep up the good work. and ask for more people to help with values etc. let us know what you are missing.
    no comment....
  • ironix
    ironix
    Skilled Warrior
    Joined Aug 2013 Posts: 409
    edited 22 Nov 2020, 2:19AM


    as you can see here you have one of my switches.

    Health
    Shield
    Mass
    and im curious about the resist values as well.

    maybe ask kix to get a little more involved. because working with community values isnt always helpfull or correct
    no comment....
  • Chili Industries Ltd
    Chili Industries Ltd
    Strike-force Captain
    Joined Feb 2014 Posts: 709
    Thanks, that's really helpful. Keep'em coming.

    Thought I had mass nailed down. Every build I tried and compared to in-game ones, from Rebel hulls to Spectre, panned out perfectly.

    Resists on armor seem to be the problem with overall resists and not resist items. Will add it to my to-do list.

    Nice catch with the shields. Forgot that certain types of armor could have bonus to shield energy. Likewise with the health. Missed the bonus from hulls. These have both been fixed.

    Been messing around with it all day, but mass is still giving some problems. Having multiple mods which changed weapon mass was the main cause. If I crunch numbers manually, I end up at 23,085, whereas the planner now says 23,086 due to rounding, while other builds with multiple mods seem to be spot on. You’re not showing page two, but from the stats I’m guessing the build matches the one on the right, so the only thing I can think of is that either the mass modifier from Palladium or the one from Neutrino isn't exactly as displayed in-game, but actually a bit lower and rounded up to make it easier to read. Will test it once my factory is free.

    As for what I'm missing; it's hard to tell. I wouldn't have uploaded it in the first place, if I had known it had bugs in it, so I have to grab whatever pops up whenever it does. But, no program or piece of code is perfect day one, so it’s to be expected.


    ironix said:

    maybe ask kix to get a little more involved. because working with community values isnt always helpfull or correct
    That one made me chuckle a bit. Kix doesn't really like to share game mechanics with players. The first couple of years we didn't even get patch notes, and to this day we still don't get full notes on all changes they've made. AFAIK, they've never shared formulas on anything either, so I've had to analyse data collected from the game, just to come up with something like level calc.

    Our CM only logs in once every Thursday (PST) and I don't think players would appreciate having to wait weeks, for a simple question to come back from the devs and for a fix to land. A better solution would be if I could have access to the test server, if that thing still exists.

    It would be great if they would give a hand, but I wouldn't expect it.

  • ironix
    ironix
    Skilled Warrior
    Joined Aug 2013 Posts: 409
    Thanks, that's really helpful. Keep'em coming.

    Thought I had mass nailed down. Every build I tried and compared to in-game ones, from Rebel hulls to Spectre, panned out perfectly.

    Resists on armor seem to be the problem with overall resists and not resist items. Will add it to my to-do list.

    Nice catch with the shields. Forgot that certain types of armor could have bonus to shield energy. Likewise with the health. Missed the bonus from hulls. These have both been fixed.

    Been messing around with it all day, but mass is still giving some problems. Having multiple mods which changed weapon mass was the main cause. If I crunch numbers manually, I end up at 23,085, whereas the planner now says 23,086 due to rounding, while other builds with multiple mods seem to be spot on. You’re not showing page two, but from the stats I’m guessing the build matches the one on the right, so the only thing I can think of is that either the mass modifier from Palladium or the one from Neutrino isn't exactly as displayed in-game, but actually a bit lower and rounded up to make it easier to read. Will test it once my factory is free.

    As for what I'm missing; it's hard to tell. I wouldn't have uploaded it in the first place, if I had known it had bugs in it, so I have to grab whatever pops up whenever it does. But, no program or piece of code is perfect day one, so it’s to be expected.


    ironix said:

    maybe ask kix to get a little more involved. because working with community values isnt always helpfull or correct
    That one made me chuckle a bit. Kix doesn't really like to share game mechanics with players. The first couple of years we didn't even get patch notes, and to this day we still don't get full notes on all changes they've made. AFAIK, they've never shared formulas on anything either, so I've had to analyse data collected from the game, just to come up with something like level calc.

    Our CM only logs in once every Thursday (PST) and I don't think players would appreciate having to wait weeks, for a simple question to come back from the devs and for a fix to land. A better solution would be if I could have access to the test server, if that thing still exists.

    It would be great if they would give a hand, but I wouldn't expect it.


    no problem i like to help out,

    it is indeed the exact same build as shown even i dis not show page 2.

    as for the kixeye part. a lot of other games have a test server. and people in said test server are forced to swear secrecy, as for that, this could also mean you could do the same with in game values.
    this doesnt mean kix has to share all they have, but rather correct values and maybe have one of their team check in with you 1 time a week or so to answer or give more feedback, maybe even help on your project.

    in all fairness kixeye should have made a calc themselves when they saw TopGear making it to avoid these issues and draw more appeal to their playerbase.

    ive been playing this game too long to even start all those discussions again but man they bother me...
    no comment....
  • Chili Industries Ltd
    Chili Industries Ltd
    Strike-force Captain
    Joined Feb 2014 Posts: 709
    Figured out the mass problem. It was neither one nor the other, but how they add weapon mass when combined with the weapon mass modifier from a hull, which is why it only happened with some builds. Occasionally the result still deviates 1t, but otherwise it should be correct now.

    Fixed requirements for T8 and T9 while I was at it, and resists should also be somewhat accurate, although still not quite right. It could be an in-game display bug, but I will keep working on it.
  • VEGA Security
    VEGA Security
    Skilled Warrior
    Joined Feb 2018 Posts: 329
    A couple things I found. Elite Squadrons isn't adding mass for the new squadrons on Commandante, and I'm not sure that weapon specials are being calculated correctly. Correct me if I'm wrong, but don't weapon specials apply to all equipped weapons, and not just those it applies to? One other thing that would be helpful is how much mass is available left. This would help plan builds much more accurately. Or at least display maximum mass. 

    Anyway, I'm glad this is coming back, keep up the good work. You'll be a Vega saint in no time!
  • Chili Industries Ltd
    Chili Industries Ltd
    Strike-force Captain
    Joined Feb 2014 Posts: 709
    edited 27 Nov 2020, 8:32PM
    Specials should apply to all weapons, as I merely sum up mass from all regardless of type and then apply the modifier(s). I noticed that way back in Flash, when Focused Optics added mass even when you used nothing but Mass Drivers (Kinetic Drivers). I think I did comment on it in the forum a few times back then, since it made no sense.

    As for Elite Squadrons; looked into it and yea, it adds weapon mass, but what it should do is add hangar mass. Despite what the description says in-game, it isn't the same. I'll fix that shortly.

    Just below the fleet tabs on the left, the current ship mass and max mass are shown. The same for fleet mass and max fleet mass, but on the right instead. The mass bar below the ship turns red when the ship is overloaded. I suppose I could add a remainder indication somewhere, so people can avoid having to do math.

    Edit: That should do it. Try now.
  • piscesbrain
    piscesbrain
    Potential Threat
    Joined Sep 2020 Posts: 46
    edited 28 Nov 2020, 3:52PM
    Monitor doesn't decrease Screen mass, as in this example.
    http://prnt.sc/vrujh0
  • Chili Industries Ltd
    Chili Industries Ltd
    Strike-force Captain
    Joined Feb 2014 Posts: 709
    Resists should now be accurate.

    Monitor doesn't decrease Screen mass, as in this example.
    http://prnt.sc/vrujh0
    Fixed. The data was missing mk 1 modifier, which caused the modifier from higher mk to shift down one. Ran through all hulls down to tier 6 while I was at it and found Zetta had the same problem.
  • piscesbrain
    piscesbrain
    Potential Threat
    Joined Sep 2020 Posts: 46
    edited 29 Nov 2020, 4:57AM
    Pharmakon.
    Phase Charge Relay and Phase Drain Buffer can stack, while they can't in VEGA Conflict Ship Planner. 
    Monitor, there is no T8 weapons in the weapon list when planning for Monitor.
    Tier.
    Some T7 techs are restricted to T7, which means it can't be equipped to T8. This situation is similar to T8 Augments, which T7 hulls can't use them. Recommend removing them from the list when players is planning for T7 or T8 hulls.

  • Chili Industries Ltd
    Chili Industries Ltd
    Strike-force Captain
    Joined Feb 2014 Posts: 709
    Tbh, didn't know those two could stack. That'll be a tough nut to crack, since restrictions are in place in-game to prevent players from stacking stats from mods. The same that I use. Guess I'll have to create an exception for it, which is never a good thing.

    Thanks for testing it. One thing, though...

    Some T7 techs are restricted to T7, which means it can't be equipped to T8. This situation is similar to T8 Augments, which T7 hulls can't use them. Recommend removing them from the list when players is planning for T7 or T8 hulls.

    "Some" means I have to go through every single item and hull and double check, as it could be 1 item or 50 items. A list of items either you or others come across, which need to be changed would be helpful.

    A part of the data is from the Wiki, which isn't always correct, so there are bound to be some bugs.
  • piscesbrain
    piscesbrain
    Potential Threat
    Joined Sep 2020 Posts: 46
    Well, correcting all restrictions for stuffs needs much time, I understand. However, this will help players not being confused.

    It seems that making a ship planner is very difficult, you had made efforts to do this "voluntary". However, quality is more important than quantity. You have done a very good job, I have used your ship planner through many videos for farming strategies, advertise your web to many other players, I personally see your ship planner is very good, etc.

    In conclusion, may the force be with you, to correct all restrictions for stuffs and review everything, as much as you can, as soon as possible.
  • piscesbrain
    piscesbrain
    Potential Threat
    Joined Sep 2020 Posts: 46
    Blackguard Cruiser in VEGA Conflict Ship Planner uses Screen instead of Shield and Shell.
  • Chili Industries Ltd
    Chili Industries Ltd
    Strike-force Captain
    Joined Feb 2014 Posts: 709
    Fixed.

    Not sure what went wrong there, as all slots were incorrect. Likely a copy & paste I forgot to edit.

    Working on the rest as well. If only my factory could hurry up and finish, so I could get some tests done.
  • Chili Industries Ltd
    Chili Industries Ltd
    Strike-force Captain
    Joined Feb 2014 Posts: 709
    OK, had a chance to test Phase Drain and Phase Charge. Thought you meant they couldn't be fitted at the same time, but they could on the planner, and in-game as well after testing it. Not sure where you were going with that, so I'll leave it as it is.

    I haven't included their stats on the ship and fleet overview yet, but I'm working on it.

    Monitor is listed as a tier 7 hull on the wiki and my data reflected that, which blocked it from using tier 8 items.
  • piscesbrain
    piscesbrain
    Potential Threat
    Joined Sep 2020 Posts: 46
    edited 1 Dec 2020, 10:32AM
    Phase Charge Relay and Phase Drain Buffer.

    I think my words don't match with my thinking, so I will make an example. Zettabyte Dreadnought has 3 Special slots, so that it can have 3 Phase Charge Relays or 3 Phase Drain Buffers.
  • Chili Industries Ltd
    Chili Industries Ltd
    Strike-force Captain
    Joined Feb 2014 Posts: 709
    OK, got it. Messed around with it again and you were able to add both at the same time and they did stack, but you could only fit one of each.

    Exception added to allow for multiple of each.
  • Chili Industries Ltd
    Chili Industries Ltd
    Strike-force Captain
    Joined Feb 2014 Posts: 709

    Site was temporarily down. Hosting service ran out, but it should be back up again.

  • piscesbrain
    piscesbrain
    Potential Threat
    Joined Sep 2020 Posts: 46
    Hostility Augment and Ifrit Thruster are restricted to Umbra and restricted to Dreadnought. You should add them in.
  • Chili Industries Ltd
    Chili Industries Ltd
    Strike-force Captain
    Joined Feb 2014 Posts: 709
    Fixed and thanks again. They were restricted to Umbra Dread, but had a small bug in the data, causing them to not show in the list.
  • piscesbrain
    piscesbrain
    Potential Threat
    Joined Sep 2020 Posts: 46
    edited 6 Dec 2020, 12:02PM
    There is a Tachyon Thruster, you should add them in the Ship Planner.
  • Chili Industries Ltd
    Chili Industries Ltd
    Strike-force Captain
    Joined Feb 2014 Posts: 709
    Thanks, missed that one. Thought it was scheduled for later this month.
  • piscesbrain
    piscesbrain
    Potential Threat
    Joined Sep 2020 Posts: 46
    Comandante can use Tachyon Thruster.
  • Th3Raven
    Th3Raven
    Skilled Warrior
    Joined Feb 2013 Posts: 408
    add mass on Tachyon Thruster as well
    image
  • Chili Industries Ltd
    Chili Industries Ltd
    Strike-force Captain
    Joined Feb 2014 Posts: 709
    Done. Wiki lists it as having no mass modifier, which did make me raise an eyebrow.
Sign In or Register to comment.