Ways To Combat LAG

randy.corbin.73
randy.corbin.73
Minor Nuisance
Joined Mar 2014 Posts: 268
First I want to say that I understand that Kixeye is having LAG issues but there are several things you can do to improve your PC to help fight this.

If you are not comfortable with changing system settings on your computer let someone who knows what they are doing help you.
If you don't know what you are doing you can screw your computer up.

My 9 to 5 job is I.T. Specialist and I've been working on computers as well as programming for 40 years.
I've even done work on some online games before.

This is NOT intended to fix all of your problems but only to help make them a LITTLE better.
Please don't ask me how to do something on your computer. 
I will not work on anyone’s computer unless it's sitting in front of me. There are just to many variables to deal with.

First get a registry cleaner program and run it. I use CCleaner Professional but they make a free version as well that works OK.
I don't know if it's okay for me to post a link here but you can Google CCleaner and find it.

Only run War Commander. Don't have more windows or programs running in the background.

There is nothing you can do about your internet. It is what it is but there are several things you can do to computer to decrease the LAG.
Start off by going into settings of War Commander and turn off all of the graphics and sounds.

You want a red X next to all of the following:

Show dead infantry (blood & gore)
Show destroyed vehicles
Show Power Plant smoke
Show projectile smoke trails
Show building shadows

Explosions set to OFF
Play unit voices
Play base drone movement sounds
Then apply these changes.

Next Mute your music and sound 

Before you go past this point let me warn you that if you don't know what you are doing with your computer STOP RIGHT HERE!

This is for A Windows Computer.
Bring up your Task Manager and look under the tab for Processes
This shows you everything that is currently running on your computer.
If it's much more than 110 you've got problems. This means you've got 110 programs running in the background of your PC. I have 102 running right now. 110 processes is an average for a modern computer. Older computers may not do will with this many.

These are mini programs that are running in the background of your computer all the time. Many do not need to be running all the time.
They all take up memory as well as CPU time and I've found that a lot of LAG can come from these.

Before we deal with how to shut some of them down press the Performance tab on the Task Manager.
Now close all programs on your computer except for your internet browser and Task Manager.
If the idle CPU usage is above 10% or your memory usage is more than 30% some of the LAG is coming from your own PC.
Now go back to the processes tab and start making a list of things that are running in the background that you don't need running all the time.

Here are some common things I find:
JAVA Updater
Windows Updater
Smart Device Updaters
Search Engine Helpers and Updaters
PIS (Printer Information Services)
GPS Updater
Apple / Android device managers

If you don't know how to tell what is what then chances are you don't need to be doing this. Take it to someone who knows what they are doing!

Go to system restore and make a restore point before you go any further.

All of these things are needed but do not need to be running in the background all the time.
When you have your list made go to Services. 
If you don't know how to get there you don't need to be doing this.
Change the services on the list you've made from Automatic to Manual.
When you've done this for everything that doesn't need to be running all the time restart your computer and go back and check your CPU and Memory usage from the Task Manager again.
If you still can't get your CPU usage down then chances are there are still too many things running in the background or your processor is too slow.

Now we will move on to your video card.
Go into the settings and reduce your frame rate. Some cards don't have this. Normally the target frame rate is around 30. Lower it to 20.
Turn off anti-aliasing.

Change the performance setting of your PC to performance if it is set to appearance.

After you have done all of this if your memory usage has not come down enough you may want to think about adding more RAM to your computer.

This will help some with the LAG problem and hopefully they will get the problems fixed on their end too.
Again if you do not know what you are doing take your PC to someone who does.

I posted this to try to help and yes I do understand that Kixeye has issues right now but these are a few things you can do to make your play a little better.

- I don't care I just like the game -
  • Nathan James Cruise
    Nathan James Cruise
    Minor Nuisance
    Joined Jun 2012 Posts: 121
    Thank you for taking the time to note these.
  • randy.corbin.73
    randy.corbin.73
    Minor Nuisance
    Joined Mar 2014 Posts: 268
    edited 4 Nov 2015, 2:19PM
    Hope it helps. I played Onslaught with minimal lag. Beat wave 55 and could control all of my platoons. Yes Kixeye does have some issues but most people's computers have issues too. Add both of these problems together and ouch!
    Best regards too all. LOL hey Kixeye can I get a job? You can pay me in gold! :smiley:  Just kidding.
    - I don't care I just like the game -
  • Nathan James Cruise
    Nathan James Cruise
    Minor Nuisance
    Joined Jun 2012 Posts: 121
    yes i appreciate that and have tried what u wrote... its great that you have took time to try and help... it hasnt made much difference to me personally i recently formatted so dont think much was wrong on my side anyways but appreciated the guidence on what to try from someone who knows about these things, again i salute you sir!
  • randy.corbin.73
    randy.corbin.73
    Minor Nuisance
    Joined Mar 2014 Posts: 268
    Remember everyone this isn't a fix all but every little bit helps.
    - I don't care I just like the game -
  • Hyperius
    Hyperius
    Moderator
    Joined Dec 2011 Posts: 12,121
    Thanks for sharing this!

    KIXEYE Senior Moderator

    Playing since 9/30/11

    Helpful Links:  Site Rules / Report a Player / ToS / Ticket Status /

    Have a problem? KIXEYE Customer Service

  • randy.corbin.73
    randy.corbin.73
    Minor Nuisance
    Joined Mar 2014 Posts: 268
    Hyperius said:
    Thanks for sharing this!
    Well maybe it will help some people. Hope so anyway.
    - I don't care I just like the game -
  • charlie.george.9828
    charlie.george.9828
    Potential Threat
    Joined Aug 2013 Posts: 27
    Even though it does not help me, it is good you took the time to do this.  Don't suppose you have any ideas on the 2033 error, I have been unable to access the game for 3 weeks and I cannot get anyone from Kixeye to come back to me with advice.  I have not paid them the $50 ransom
  • randy.corbin.73
    randy.corbin.73
    Minor Nuisance
    Joined Mar 2014 Posts: 268
    edited 4 Nov 2015, 8:37PM
    No sorry I don't. If I could get it to happen to me I could tell. Without knowing their error codes I'm just guessing. In Windows it means a corrupt file. Now I'm guessing here so I may be way off but perhaps something with your flash player or browser could need updating. This is probably NOT the answer but it wouldn't hurt to download flash player again and try another browser.
    Like I said this is just a wild guess and without knowing their error codes all I have to go on is Windows error codes which this is most likely not one.
    Hope it gets fixed for you soon.
    - I don't care I just like the game -
  • charlie.george.9828
    charlie.george.9828
    Potential Threat
    Joined Aug 2013 Posts: 27
    Thanks for your response, I have tried that, but will try anything again.  I have been playing for 3 years and putting aside the problems within the game I love playing it and it feels like my arm has been amputated, sad eh?  I just wish they would respond and advise me what to do.......maybe someone from Kixeye will see this and help me?  Thanks again Randy
  • randy.corbin.73
    randy.corbin.73
    Minor Nuisance
    Joined Mar 2014 Posts: 268
    Maybe they will see this and give some feedback. I'm sorry but I'm addicted to this game too bugs and all. I've been on the other side of game development. It's not fun. You can do something and it works great for months but later down the road it causes problems. Then you have to back track through months of work to try and find it. All the while your boss and the players want your blood. As a game grows it only gets harder. A programmer wants months to test their stuff out but your boss wants it out in 24 hours with no bugs and has 20 more things they want done too. Then there are the people playing the game who have no idea of how complex it really is. (Sorry flashback of my past)
    In any case if I can find out anything I'll post it here.
    Good luck!
    - I don't care I just like the game -
  • charlie.george.9828
    charlie.george.9828
    Potential Threat
    Joined Aug 2013 Posts: 27
    lol, thanks.  My son in law is a programmer and I see how stressed he gets.....and as you say results by yesterday

  • randy.corbin.73
    randy.corbin.73
    Minor Nuisance
    Joined Mar 2014 Posts: 268
    I found a thread that may provide you with some help.
    https://www.kixeye.com/forum/discussion/588794

    The error seems to be caused by their server thinking you have two computers trying to logon at the same time. I know you don't but their server thinks you do. It can also be caused by a persistent connection problem in a router or firewall. This just means a device keeps a link open to their server and doesn't close properly. This is unlikely but I've seen it happen before. 
    Try the things it shows in the link. Also if you can power off your computer and try to connect from a different computer. Other than these things I'll keep looking.
    - I don't care I just like the game -
  • charlie.george.9828
    charlie.george.9828
    Potential Threat
    Joined Aug 2013 Posts: 27
    superb, thank you........going to try it now
  • charlie.george.9828
    charlie.george.9828
    Potential Threat
    Joined Aug 2013 Posts: 27
    no joy, unfortunately :-(

  • randy.corbin.73
    randy.corbin.73
    Minor Nuisance
    Joined Mar 2014 Posts: 268
    One last thing to try. Unplug your router / modem for your internet. There is a very small chance it is holding a connection open but I very much doubt it. Where you online when the server was taken down the last time you were able to play? Another thing that it could be and I'm just guessing big time here is if you were your account was corrupted and needs the connection part reset. I really don't know it's just a wild guess. Other than these things you've tried the only thing I know of is premium support. 
    Sorry I cant help any more than these guesses I've made.
    - I don't care I just like the game -
  • charlie.george.9828
    charlie.george.9828
    Potential Threat
    Joined Aug 2013 Posts: 27
    It's been about 3 weeks now since I could play.  I installed a new router last weekend so that is all a complete new install.  Thanks anyway, I just wish Kixeye were as helpful and it would probably take them 5 minutes to rectify this issue, and it is not just my account with this problem.  The have people who have been playing for years and because we will not spend money they drop us.  Not to worry.  Perhaps I will get my life back now, lol.  That said I will miss the game because warts and all it is fun.  Your help was much appreciated - even though we got nowhere.

  • Seno28
    Seno28
    Greenhorn
    Joined Aug 2015 Posts: 6

    Tolong buka id burisrawa apa saratnya

Sign In or Register to comment.